Did I Just Waste The Entire Year

Without Direction, Your GPS can't help you.

Where to you want to go?

Have you ever been driving down the road and all of a sudden just come to the realization that you are farther along than you thought you were. You wonder,

Wait, How Did I Get Here?

You were driving, thinking or Not, and now you are miles down the road. That is a form of hypnosis. You were in a high state of suggestibility and with the monotonous road, the distractions the sensations of all around you suddenly you were somewhere you were not expecting to be.

That is how life is without a Clearly Defined, Written Goal. You just kind of wake up and you aren’t where you expected to be.

Did you want to be somewhere else? Did you think you would be someplace else in your life when you woke up on New Years Eve and you fell like you wasted the entire year?

I moved recently and there are many nights when I get off the train and get in my car and leave the station towards my house, I look up and realize that I am driving to my old house. I just made the turn to go right back where I was before.

What am I rambling about? What I am saying to you and, to me, is that if you don’t plan where you want to go every day, every time you do something, it is easy to fall into the rut of doing what you did before. You have to define what you want to do and be able to keep track of what you are doing to make sure you get there.

The GPS won’t get you where you are going if you don’t give it a destination.

I talk about Goals and how to set them effectively. As someone who claims to be an expert in this, sometimes I feel that I don’t practice what I preach. Much like driving down the road and realizing you aren’t sure how you got where you are, we often do this in life. We are busy with the things we are doing, thinking about all of the “traffic” in our lives, the things going by us, the things in front of us slowing us down, the people behind us with their high beams on pushing us forward. Next thing you know, we are not where we thought we were or would be.

We will be starting our Goal Getting Podcast soon. You can go over to the website and join the Goal Getter Nation to get email updates.  Just click on the picture below.

Goal Getting Podcast Don't Just Set'em, Get'em

We would love to hear what you think about our blog and what we are doing. If you have any suggestions or ideas about what you would like us to write about, please let us know below.

 

